CCFF-District Negotiation: Tentative Agreement Details

Dear Colleagues,

As you now know, the CCFF and the District reached a tentative agreement Monday (8/15) evening. The two sides worked hard over the summer to arrive at a settlement and what we have as a tentative agreement is a fair and sound compromise. It sets a solid foundation for all of us to build on in the coming years.

Here is a brief outline:

PT Salary and Office Hours (PT/FT)

  • PT faculty salary will increase in 2015-16 by 9% to 11% (depending on the step in the salary schedule) retroactive to July 1, 2015; for 2016-17, an additional 2.5% increase effective July 1, 2016, and for 2017-18, an additional 2.5% increase effective July 1, 2017.
  • Increase in paid office hours for PT faculty during the academic year (effective Fall 2016):
    • faculty teaching up to 6 units: 8 hours of paid office hours (automatic, when requested)
    • faculty teaching more than 6 units: 12 hours of paid OH (again, automatic)
    • an increase in office hour rate from $40 to $50 an hour
  • Paid office hours for both PT and FT faculty during summer: one hour per unit of instruction paid at the hourly rate (effective Summer 2017)
  • Seniority rights article for PT faculty (effective Fall 2017)

FT Salary

  • FT faculty salary increase in 2015-16: 5% (retroactive to July 1, 2015), 2016-17: 2.5%, and 2017-18: 2.5%
  • Add one step (approx. $2860) for columns A though D in 2016-17 to the FT salary schedule (effective July 1, 2016)
  • Add one more step (approx. $2860) for columns A thru D in 2017-18 to the FT salary schedule (effective July 1, 2017)
  • Reduce longevity increases from 4 years to two years effective July 1, 2016 for columns E and F. This essentially adds four steps to columns E and F at (approx. $1430) each step.

FT Health care

  • Fully paid healthcare for all plans for all three years – 2016, 2017 and 2018.
  • If agreement is not reached by 2019, max district contribution for 2019 will be $23,500/yr

Class size compensation (see below).

Effective Fall 2016. Compensation will be paid at the end of semester based on enrollment at census.

Sections with # of students Compensation per section per semester
55-69 $450
70-94 $500
95-125 $550

Department Chair compensation

Compensation for chairs during the regular semester and summer stipends will be based on Full time equivalent faculty (FTEF) in each department as shown below, effective Fall 2016.

Full-time equivalent faculty in the department as of the beginning of the prior spring semester Reassigned time for department chairs per semesters *Summer Stipend (to be paid July 1st) * shall be requested by the dept. chair
Less than 1 FTEF 10% $500
1 and up to 10 20% $1,000
More than 10 and up to 15 30% $1,500
More than 15 and up to 35 40% $1,875
More than 35 70% $2,250

Program Director compensation

Program directors will get 20% reassigned time and summer stipends as above (department chair stipends), effective Fall 2016.

Academic Freedom

The two sides negotiated an academic freedom article.

Overall, this is a fair contract that addresses many of the issues that have been ignored for decades.

Next Steps

Once the tentative agreement is neatly formatted and organized, we will share it with you. CCFF will also hold a town hall meeting to answer any questions you may have.

Members of CCFF will then get an opportunity to vote on the tentative agreement. Once the agreement is ratified, it will be presented to the Board of Trustees for their final approval. We are hoping that this would take place at the September 21st board meeting.

Those of you who are not members of CCFF are welcome to sign up for membership by contacting CCFF’s Membership Chair, Stephanie Rosenblatt at In fact, we urge you to sign up for membership so you can cast your vote on the tentative agreement.

Thank You

First of all, we would like to thank President Fierro and Mr. Harry Joel, Interim VP of Human Resources, for their willingness to collaborate and think creatively in arriving at this agreement. A special thank you for the tireless efforts of everyone else on the CCFF negotiations team: Stephanie Rosenblatt, Terrance Mullins, Jay Elarcosa, Lyndsey Lefebvre and Amy Holzgang. They essentially gave up their summer break to arrive at this solution.

Finally, we could not have done this without your active support – your participation at board meetings, your signing of petitions, your attendance at rallies, your passing of resolutions through faculty senate, and your stance in solidarity with CCFF.

Our deepest gratitude.

Kimberly Rosenfeld, Chief Negotiating Officer – CCFF

Solomon Namala, President – CCFF